Terbium, Tb, Atomic number 65

General

Terbium is a chemical element with the element symbol Tb and atomic number 65. In the periodic table it is in the group of lanthanides and is thus also one of the rare earth metals. Terbium is after the first locality, the pit Ytterby near Stockholm, named, as well as yttrium, Ytterbium and erbium.
The discovery of the element terbium is very confused and still not resolved. Generally seen as the discoverer of Carl Gustav Mosander, the early 1840s, discovered by Johan Gadolin yttria examined. The supposedly pure terbium compound was a mixture of several lanthanides (Bunsen).
Pure terbium was only with the advent of ion exchange technology to 1945 produced. From the name of the Swedish pit Ytterby headed Mosander the element name from. Terbium is found in nature only in compounds ago. Minerals are known terbiumhaltige :
Cerit
Monazite (This,LaTh,Nd,And)PO4 with a Tb content of max. 0,03 %, the major ore for Tb
Gadolinit (Deposits are depleted in Ytterby)
Euxenit (And,As,He,The,This,You,Th)(Nb,Take,You)2O6 with a Tb content of max. 1 %

Extraction

After an extensive separation of the other Terbiumbegleiter, the oxide with hydrogen fluoride to the terbium fluoride reacted. Is then reduced with calcium to form calcium fluoride to terbium. The removal of residual calcium residues and contaminants carried in an additional remelting in vacuum.

Special features

The silver-gray metal of the rare earths is ductile and malleable. At temperatures above 1315 ° C converts to α-terbium (hcp lattice) Terbium in β-um. Terbium is relatively stable in air, it becomes covered with an oxide layer. In the flame, it burns to brown terbium(III,IV)-oxide (Tb4O7). With water it reacts with evolution of hydrogen to hydroxide.

Use

Terbium is for doping calcium fluoride, Calcium tungstate and strontium molybdate for use in semiconductors (solid-state devices) used. Together with zirconium(IV)-oxide is used to stabilize the structure in high-temperature fuel cells. The oxide is added to the green phosphor in cathode ray tubes and fluorescent lamps. Natriumterbiumborat serves as a laser material to produce coherent light having a wavelength of 546 nm.
Terbium-Eisen-Cobalt- or terbium-gadolinium-iron-cobalt alloys are used as a coating on rewritable magneto-optical (MO) Disks. Terbium-dysprosium-containing alloys show a strong magnetostriction (Change in length by a magnetic field or magnetic impulses at length change). Such alloys are used in materials testing technology.
In neodymium-iron-boron magnet, they increase the coercivity, that is, the demagnetization resistance is increased.
Terbium and Terbiumverbindungen should be considered as low toxicity. The element has no biological significance for the human body. Terbiummetallstäube are like almost all the metal dust fire- and potentially dangerous.

General
Name, Symbol, Number Terbium, Tb, 65
Series Lanthanides
group, Period, Block The, 6, f
Appearance silvery white
CAS-Nummer 7440-27-9
Mass fraction of element 0,85 ppm
Atomic
Atomic mass 158,92534 you
Atomradius 175 pm
Kovalenter Radius 194 pm
Elektronenkonf. [Car] 4f(9) 6s2
1. Ionization 565,8 KJ / mol
2. Ionization 1110 KJ / mol
3. Ionization 2114 KJ / mol
Physically
Physical State fixed
Crystal structure hexagonal
Density 8,253 g/cm3 (25 ° C)
Magnetism paramagnetisch (χm = 0,11)
Melting point 1629 K (1356 C)
Boiling point 3503 K (3230 C)
Molar Volume 19,30 * 10(-6)m(3)/mol
Heat of vaporization 295 KJ / mol
Schmelzwärme 10,8 KJ / mol
Electrical conductivity 0,870*10(6) A/(V * m)
Thermal conductivity 11 W /(m*K)
This entry was posted in Rare earth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Terbium, Tb, Ordnungszahl 65

Allgemeines

Terbium ist ein chemisches Element mit dem Elementsymbol Tb und der Ordnungszahl 65. Im Periodensystem steht es in der Gruppe der Lanthanoide und zÀhlt damit auch zu den Metallen der seltenen Erden. Terbium ist nach dem ersten Fundort, der Grube Ytterby bei Stockholm, benannt, wie auch Yttrium, Ytterbium und Erbium.
Die Entdeckung des Elementes Terbium ist sehr verworren und bis heute nicht geklÀrt. Allgemein sieht man Carl Gustav Mosander als Entdecker an, der Anfang der 1840er die von Johan Gadolin entdeckte Yttererde untersuchte. Die vermeintlich reine Terbium-Verbindung war aber eine Mischung mehrerer Lanthanoide (Bunsen).
Reines Terbium wurde erst mit Aufkommen der Ionenaustauschtechnik nach 1945 hergestellt. Aus dem Namen der schwedischen Grube Ytterby leitete Mosander die Elementbezeichnung ab. Terbium kommt in der Natur nur in Verbindungen vor. Bekannte terbiumhaltige Minerale sind :
Cerit
Monazit (Ce,LaTh,Nd,Y)PO4 mit einem Tb-Gehalt von max. 0,03 %, das Haupterz fĂŒr Tb
Gadolinit (Vorkommen bei Ytterby sind erschöpft)
Euxenit (Y,Ca,Er,La,Ce,U,Th)(Nb,Ta,Ti)2O6 mit einem Tb-Gehalt von max. 1 %

Gewinnung

Nach einer aufwĂ€ndigen Abtrennung der anderen Terbiumbegleiter wird das Oxid mit Fluorwasserstoff zum Terbiumfluorid umgesetzt. Anschließend wird mit Calcium unter Bildung von Calciumfluorid zum Terbium reduziert. Die Abtrennung verbleibender Calciumreste und Verunreinigungen erfolgt in einer zusĂ€tzlichen Umschmelzung im Vakuum.

Besonderheiten

Das silbergraue Metall der seltenen Erden ist duktil und schmiedbar. Bei Temperaturen oberhalb 1315 °C wandelt sich α-Terbium (hcp-Kristallgitter) in ÎČ-Terbium um. In Luft ist Terbium relativ bestĂ€ndig, es ĂŒberzieht sich mit einer Oxidschicht. In der Flamme verbrennt es zum braunem Terbium(III,IV)-oxid (Tb4O7). Mit Wasser reagiert es unter Wasserstoffentwicklung zum Hydroxid.

Verwendung

Terbium wird zum Dotieren von Calciumfluorid, Calciumwolframat und Strontiummolybdat zur Verwendung in Halbleitern (solid-state devices) verwendet. Zusammen mit Zirconium(IV)-oxid dient es zur GefĂŒgestabilisierung in Hochtemperatur-Brennstoffzellen. Das Oxid wird dem grĂŒnen Leuchtstoff in Bildröhren und Fluoreszenzlampen zugesetzt. Natriumterbiumborat dient als Lasermaterial zur Erzeugung von kohĂ€rentem Licht mit einer WellenlĂ€nge von 546 nm.
Terbium-Eisen-Cobalt- oder Terbium-Gadolinium-Eisen-Cobalt-Legierungen dienen als Beschichtung auf wiederbeschreibbaren magneto-optischen (MO) Disks. Terbium-Dysprosium-haltige Legierungen zeigen eine starke Magnetostriktion (LĂ€ngenĂ€nderung durch ein Magnetfeld oder magnetische Impulse bei LĂ€ngenĂ€nderung). Solche Legierungen werden in der MaterialprĂŒftechnik eingesetzt.
In Neodym-Eisen-Bor-Magneten erhöhen sie die KoerzitivitĂ€t, das heißt die Entmagnetisierungs-Resistenz wird erhöht.
Terbium und Terbiumverbindungen sind als gering toxisch zu betrachten. Das Element hat keine biologische Bedeutung fĂŒr den menschlichen Organismus. TerbiummetallstĂ€ube sind wie fast alle MetallstĂ€ube feuer- und explosionsgefĂ€hrlich.

Allgemein
Name, SymbolOrdnungszahl Terbium, Tb, 65
Serie Lanthanoide
Gruppe, Periode, Block La, 6, f
Aussehen silbrig weiß
CAS-Nummer 7440-27-9
Massenanteil an der ErdhĂŒlle 0,85 ppm
Atomar
Atommasse 158,92534 u
Atomradius 175 pm
Kovalenter Radius 194 pm
Elektronenkonf. [Xe] 4f(9) 6s2
1. Ionisierungsenergie 565,8 KJ/mol
2. Ionisierungsenergie 1110 KJ/mol
3. Ionisierungsenergie 2114 KJ/mol
Physikalisch
Aggregatszustand fest
Kristallstruktur hexagonal
Dichte 8,253 g/cm3 (25 °C)
Magnetismus paramagnetisch (χm = 0,11)
Schmelzpunkt 1629 K (1356 C)
Siedepunkt 3503 K (3230 C)
Molares Volumen 19,30 * 10(-6)m(3)/mol
VerdampfungswÀrme 295 KJ/mol
SchmelzwÀrme 10,8 KJ/mol
Elektrische LeitfÀhigkeit 0,870*10(6) A/(V*m)
WÀrmeleitfÀhigkeit 11 W/(m*K)
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Seltene Erden abgelegt und mit , , , , , , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Hinterlasse eine Antwort