Rare earth: Russia wants to make China competition

17. October 2014 Darja Cases, RBTH

Russia urges on the market for the world's coveted rare earth metals. So far, there still dominate the Chinese. A developed at the Ural Federal University, unique mining technology could help, to change the.

Scientists of the Ural Federal University have developed a sorbent, which allows the extraction of metals of the rare earths from uranium mines. The new technology will be tested within the next three years. The researchers assume, that the import demand for rare earth metals could be reduced in the Russian market with their new development by nearly a third.

Today, China controls 97 Percent of all deliveries to the rare earth metals. Often, the People's Republic was suspected, exploit the monopoly and to manipulate prices. Of the world's mined annually 120 000 Tons of rare earth metals come about only 100 Tons from Russia - once the Soviet Union was in this field world leader. The new technology will allow, production in the next few years on a year 1 000 To increase tonnes.

The pro-rector of the Ural Federal University, Sergei Kortow, is sure, that the new technology will play a very important role in the current debate on import substitution, both in terms of raw materials and the finished products. Moreover, as could a price stabilization on the world market are achieved. "Economically, it is worthwhile for Russia, Reduce rare earth metals themselves again - so the prices of the final products do not rise”, Kortow says in an interview with RBTH. Yet there is no corresponding production in Russia, However, the rare earth metals would be needed in many areas,, so Kortow.

For the testing of new technology, the Russian government researchers Ural Federal University 6,2 Million € available. More 7,4 Million euros, the Moscow company

ZAO Energetitscheskie Projekty, cooperating with the University.

The project is a collaborative effort of several Russian universities and research institutions, involved besides the Ural Federal University and the Frumkin Istitut of the Russian Academy of Sciences and a project institute in the city Oserske. The production will take place mainly in the works of the Russian state nuclear company Rosatom, in ZAO Dalur area Kurgansk and in the OAO Chiagda in Buryatia. Also Sverdlovsk is a production site in conversation. Researchers hope, develop the complicated technology, so that they can also be used in industry. It is intended not only for the extraction of rare earth metals, but also for the production of the whole range of its concentrates in the form of oxides and compositions, Metals, Alloys, Allocations and finished products.

Rare earth metals are in high demand worldwide

The newly developed method for the degradation of rare earth metals, sulfuric acid is pumped into the ground, the uranium and rare earth metals solves. In a special processing, the individual substances are separated. The revolutionary thing about this development is the sorbent, the uranium, Can absorb rare earth metals and scandium, impact on the quality of the uranium without. This sorbent is unique in the world.

The inventors of this new technology at the Physikalisch-Technische Institute Ural Federal University research has long been new developments in this area. Vladimir Rytschkow, Head of the research group, explained, that interest in the mining of rare earth metals in Russia for a long time was low, hardly anyone took note of the work of researchers. But now the time has come, The researchers have developed a technology of the future, he says. He hopes, that the new technology will help, the efficiency of the processing.

to increase the precursors of the uranium mines and import substitution in rare earth metals and scandium for the defense industry, the radio electronics, the Instrument, nuclear technology, Mechanical Engineering, the chemical industry and metallurgy contributes. "The product range, we want to offer, is very large. It includes metals, Oxide, Phosphorus, Magnets, Polish, Tubes and more”, so Rytschkow.

Many companies have already indicated interest. The Russian defense industry sees an opportunity, to become less dependent on China as a supplier of rare earth metals, but also of Western European electronics manufacturers. Rosatom has, according to the Ural Federal University also expressed interest in the industrial use of the new technology. Also requests come from Western Europe. It is particularly in demand neodymium, which is used in the electronics industry and in mechanical engineering.

This entry was posted in Rare earth, Rare earths General, Rare earth and the research, Rare earth and the economy, Strategic Metals and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.

Seltene Erden: Russland will China Konkurrenz machen

17. Oktober 2014 Darja Kesina, RBTH

Russland drängt auf den Markt für die weltweit begehrten Metalle der Seltenen Erden. Bisher dominieren dort noch die Chinesen. Eine an der Uralischen Föderalen Universität entwickelte, einzigartige Abbautechnologie könnte helfen, das zu ändern.

Wissenschaftler der Uralischen Föderalen Universität haben ein Sorptionsmittel entwickelt, das die Gewinnung von Metallen der Seltenen Erden aus Uranminen ermöglicht. Die neue Technologie soll innerhalb der nächsten drei Jahre erprobt werden. Die Forscher gehen davon aus, dass der Importbedarf an Metallen der seltenen Erden auf dem russischen Markt durch ihre Neuentwicklung um fast ein Drittel gesenkt werden könnte.

Heutzutage kontrolliert China 97 Prozent aller Lieferungen an Metallen der seltenen Erden. Häufig stand die Volksrepublik unter dem Verdacht, diese Monopolstellung auszunutzen und die Preise zu manipulieren. Von den jährlich weltweit abgebauten 120 000 Tonnen Metallen der Seltenen Erden kommen nur etwa 100 Tonnen aus Russland – einst war die Sowjetunion auf diesem Gebiet Weltmarktführer. Die neue Technologie soll ermöglichen, die Produktion in den nächsten Jahren auf jährlich 1 000 Tonnen zu steigern.

Der Prorektor der Uralischen Föderalen Universität, Sergei Kortow, ist sich sicher, dass die neue Technologie eine sehr wichtige Rolle in der aktuellen Diskussion um Importsubstitutionen spielen werde, sowohl was die Rohstoffe als auch die fertigen Produkte betrifft. Außerdem könne so eine Preisstabilisierung auf dem Weltmarkt erreicht werden. „Wirtschaftlich gesehen lohnt es sich für Russland, Metalle der Seltenen Erden wieder selbst abzubauen – so steigen die Preise für die Endprodukte nicht”, sagt Kortow in einem Gespräch mit RBTH. Noch gebe es keine entsprechende Produktion in Russland, doch die Metalle der Seltenen Erden würden in vielen Bereichen benötigt, so Kortow.

Für die Erprobung der neuen Technologie stellt die russische Regierung den Forschern der Uralischen Föderalen Universität 6,2 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung. Weitere 7,4 Millionen Euro stellt das Moskauer Unternehmen

ZAO Energetitscheskie Projekty, das mit der Hochschule kooperiert.

Das Projekt wird ein Kooperationsprojekt mehrerer russischer Hochschulen und Forschungseinrichtungen, daran beteiligt sind neben der Uralischen Föderalen Universität auch das Frumkin-Istitut der Russischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und ein Projektinstitut in der Stadt Oserske. Die Produktion wird hauptsächlich in Werken des staatlichen russischen Atomenergiekonzerns Rosatom stattfinden, in der ZAO Dalur im Gebiet Kurgansk und in der OAO Chiagda in Burjatien. Auch Swerdlowsk ist als Produktionsstandort im Gespräch. Forscher hoffen, die komplizierte Technik weiterzuentwickeln, damit sie auch in der Industrie eingesetzt werden kann. Sie ist nicht nur für die Gewinnung von Metallen der Seltenen Erden vorgesehen, sondern auch für die Herstellung der gesamten Produktpalette aus ihren Konzentraten in Form von Oxiden sowie Zusammensetzungen, Metallen, Legierungen, Dotierungen und fertigen Produkten.

Metalle der Seltenen Erden werden weltweit stark nachgefragt

Bei dem neu entwickelten Verfahren zum Abbau von Metallen der Seltenen Erden wird Schwefelsäure in die Erde gepumpt, die Uran und Metalle der Seltenen Erden löst. In einem speziellen Verarbeitungsvorgang werden die einzelnen Stoffe voneinander getrennt. Das Revolutionäre an dieser Entwicklung ist das Sorptionsmittel, das Uran, Metalle der Seltenen Erden und Skandium absorbieren kann, ohne sich auf die Qualität des Urans auszuwirken. Dieses Sorptionsmittel ist bisher einzigartig in der Welt.

Die Erfinder dieser neuen Technologie am Physikalisch-Technischen Institut der Uralischen Föderalen Universität forschen schon lange an Neuentwicklungen auf diesem Gebiet. Wladimir Rytschkow, Leiter der Forschungsgruppe, erklärt, dass das Interesse am Abbau von Metallen der Seltenen Erden in Russland lange Zeit gering war, kaum jemand habe die Arbeit der Forscher zur Kenntnis genommen. Nun sei aber die Zeit gekommen, die Forscher hätten eine Zukunftstechnologie entwickelt, sagt er. Er hofft, dass die neue Technologie hilft, die Effizienz der Verarbeitung.

der Vorprodukte aus den Uranminen zu steigern und zur Importsubstitution bei Metallen der Seltenen Erden und Skandium für die Rüstungsindustrie, die Radioelektronik, den Gerätebau, die Atomtechnik, den Maschinenbau, die Chemieindustrie und die Metallurgie beiträgt. „Die Produktpalette, die wir anbieten wollen, ist sehr groß. Sie umfasst Metalle, Oxide, Phosphor, Magnete, Poliermittel, Rohre und noch viel mehr”, so Rytschkow.

Viele Unternehmen haben bereits Interesse signalisiert. Die russische Rüstungsindustrie sieht eine Chance, weniger abhängig von China als Lieferant für Metalle der Seltenen Erden zu werden, aber auch von westeuropäischen Elektronikherstellern. Rosatom hat nach Angaben der Uralischen Föderalen Universität ebenfalls Interesse am industriellen Einsatz der neuen Technologie bekundet. Anfragen kommen zudem aus Westeuropa. Besonders nachgefragt wird Neodym, das in der Elektronikindustrie und im Maschinenbau Verwendung findet.

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Seltene Erden, Seltene Erden Allgemein, Seltene Erden und die Forschung, Seltene Erden und die Wirtschaft, Strategische Metalle abgelegt und mit , , , , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Die Kommentarfunktion ist geschlossen.