Scandium, Sc, Atomic number 21

General

Scandium (by lat. Scandia "Skandinavien") is a chemical element with symbol Sc and atomic number 21. In the periodic table it is in the 3. Subgroup (group 3) or scandium. The soft, silver-white element is the first of the transition metals and rare metals is also attributed to earth.
Scandium was 1879 discovered by Lars Fredrik Nilson. From 10 kg euxenite gadolinite and he isolated an oxide with hitherto unknown properties. The presumed new element he named him in honor of his homeland "Scandium". Already 1869 said Dmitri Ivanovich Mendeleev, an element eka-boron with atomic number 21 ahead. It was only later, Per Teodor Cleve recognized the correspondence of scandium with the Eka-Bor.Reines scandium was first 1937 electrolytically from a eutectic melt of potassium, Lithium- and scandium in 700 to 800 ° C produced.
Scandium is one of the rare elements. Elementary, it does not happen, Only in some rare minerals you can find it in enriched form:

Thortveitit: (Sc,And)2Si2O7
Euxenit: (And,As,This,You,Th)(Nb,Take,You)2O6
Gadolinit Y2Fe2 Be2Si2O10
Ixiolit: (Take,Nb,Sn,Mn,Faith)4O8
Bazzit: (Sc,To the)2Be3Si6O18
Kolbeckit: ScPO4 · 2 H2O

Scandium is found in low concentrations in more than 800 Minerals. It is therefore also in the ore concentrates transition metals as a "contaminant" contained. These include Russian and Chinese wolframite- and Tantalitkonzentrate. Even in the treatment of uranium bearing ores fall in scandium.
The blue color of aquamarine, a variety of beryl, to be caused by Sc3 ions.

Extraction

The starting material is used mainly thortveitite, which is processed in several steps to scandium. A metallic scandium is then produced by reaction to fluoride and reduction with calcium.

Special features

Because of its density is one of the light metals, scandium. In air, it becomes dull, it forms a protective oxide layer yellowish. Scandium reacts with dilute acids to form hydrogen and trivalent cations. Made from water vapor 600 ° C the reaction to form scandium oxide Sc2O3. In aqueous solutions, Sc cations behave similarly to aluminum, which often presents difficulties for analytical separations. In a mixture of nitric acid and 48 % Hydrogen fluoride, it should be resistant.

Use

Its main use is as scandium scandium in high-pressure mercury vapor lamps, For example, the stadium lights. Together with holmium and dysprosium produces a light similar to daylight. Scandium is also used for the production of laser crystals. Magnetic data storage is added to increase the scandium Ummagnetisierungsgeschwindigkeit. Scandium as scandium chloride is used in micro quantities to be a very important component in the catalyst in the production of hydrochloric.
As an alloying addition of scandium shows structurally stabilizing and refining grain size effects. An aluminum-lithium alloy with low Scandiumzusatz used in the manufacture of some parts in Russian warplanes. Even in the modern bicycle industry (see race) Scandium is used. These alloys also contain relatively little scandium.
Scandium is combustible and therefore classified as flammable.

General
Name, Symbol

Atomic number

Scandium, Dc, 21
Series Transition metals
group, Period, Block 3, 4, d
Appearance silvery white
CAS-Nummer 7440-20-2
Mass fraction of element 5,1 ppm
Atomic
Atomic mass 44,955910 you
Atomradius 160 pm
Kovalenter Radius 170 pm
Elektronenkonf. [It] 3d(1) 4s2
1. Ionization 633,1 KJ / mol
2. Ionization 1235,0 KJ / mol
3. Ionization 2388,6 KJ / mol
Physically
Physical State fixed
Crystal structure hexagonal
Density 2,985 g/cm3
Magnetism paramagnetisch (χm = 2,6 * 10(-4))
Melting point 1814 K (1541 C)
Boiling point 3103 K (2830 C)
Molar Volume 15,00 * 10(-6)m(3)/mol
Heat of vaporization 318 KJ / mol
Schmelzwärme 16,0 KJ / mol
Electrical conductivity 1,81*10(6) A/(V * m)
Thermal conductivity 16 W /(m*K)
This entry was posted in Rare earth and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Scandium, Sc, Ordnungszahl 21

Allgemeines

Scandium (von lat. Scandia „Skandinavien“) ist ein chemisches Element mit dem Symbol Sc und der Ordnungszahl 21. Im Periodensystem steht es in der 3. Nebengruppe (Gruppe 3) oder Scandiumgruppe. Das weiche, silberweiße Element ist das erste der Übergangsmetalle und wird auch den Metallen der Seltenen Erden zugerechnet.
Scandium wurde 1879 von Lars Fredrik Nilson entdeckt. Aus 10 kg Euxenit und Gadolinit isolierte er ein Oxid mit bisher unbekannten Eigenschaften. Das von ihm vermutete neue Element nannte er zu Ehren seiner Heimat „Scandium“. Schon 1869 sagte Dmitri Iwanowitsch Mendelejew ein Element Eka-Bor mit der Ordnungszahl 21 voraus. Erst Per Teodor Cleve erkannte später die Übereinstimmung des Scandiums mit dem Eka-Bor.Reines Scandium wurde erstmals 1937 elektrolytisch aus einer eutektischen Schmelze aus Kalium-, Lithium- und Scandiumchlorid bei 700 bis 800 °C hergestellt.
Scandium gehört zu den seltenen Elementen. Elementar kommt es nicht vor, nur in einigen seltenen Mineralien findet man es in angereicherter Form:

Thortveitit: (Sc,Y)2Si2O7
Euxenit: (Y,Ca,Ce,U,Th)(Nb,Ta,Ti)2O6
Gadolinit Y2Fe2+Be2Si2O10
Ixiolit: (Ta,Nb,Sn,Mn,Fe)4O8
Bazzit: (Sc,Al)2Be3Si6O18
Kolbeckit: ScPO4 · 2 H2O

Scandium findet sich in geringer Konzentration in über 800 Mineralien. Es ist daher auch in Erzkonzentraten der Übergangsmetalle als „Verunreinigung“ enthalten. Hierzu zählen russische und chinesische Wolframit- und Tantalitkonzentrate. Auch bei der Aufbereitung uranhaltiger Erze fallen Scandiumverbindungen an.
Die blaue Färbung des Aquamarins, einer Spielart des Berylls, soll durch Sc3+-Ionen verursacht werden.

Gewinnung

Als Ausgangsstoff dient hauptsächlich Thortveitit, das in mehreren Verfahrensschritten zum Scandiumoxid aufbereitet wird. Metallisches Scandium wird anschließend durch Umsetzung zum Fluorid und Reduktion mit Calcium erzeugt.

Besonderheiten

Aufgrund seiner Dichte zählt Scandium zu den Leichtmetallen. An Luft wird es matt, es bildet sich eine schützende gelbliche Oxidschicht. Scandium reagiert mit verdünnten Säuren unter Bildung von Wasserstoff und dreiwertigen Kationen. In Wasserdampf erfolgt ab 600 °C die Umsetzung zu Scandiumoxid Sc2O3. In wässrigen Lösungen verhalten sich Sc-Kationen ähnlich wie Aluminium, was bei analytischen Trennungen oftmals Schwierigkeiten bereitet. In einer Mischung aus Salpetersäure und 48 % Fluorwasserstoff soll es beständig sein.

Verwendung

Seine Hauptanwendung findet Scandium als Scandiumiodid in Hochleistungs-​Hochdruck-​Quecksilberdampflampen, beispielsweise zur Stadionbeleuchtung. Zusammen mit Holmium und Dysprosium entsteht ein dem Tageslicht ähnliches Licht. Scandium wird auch zur Herstellung von Laserkristallen verwendet. Magnetischen Datenspeichern wird Scandiumoxid zur Erhöhung der Ummagnetisierungsgeschwindigkeit zugesetzt. Scandium als Scandiumchlorid wird in Mikromengen als ein sehr wichtiger Bestandteil im Katalysator bei der Chlorwasserstoffherstellung eingesetzt.
Als Legierungszusatz zeigt Scandium gefügestabilisierende und korngrößenfeinende Effekte. Eine Aluminium-​Lithium-​Legierung mit geringem Scandiumzusatz wird zur Herstellung einiger Bauteile in russischen Kampfflugzeugen verwendet. Auch in der modernen Fahrradindustrie (siehe Rennrad) werden Scandiumlegierungen eingesetzt. Diese Legierungen enthalten ebenfalls nur relativ wenig Scandium.
Scandiumpulver ist brennbar und daher als feuergefährlich einzustufen.

Allgemein
Name, Symbol

Ordnungszahl

Scandium, Dc, 21
Serie Übergangsmetalle
Gruppe, Periode, Block 3, 4, d
Aussehen silbrig weiß
CAS-Nummer 7440-20-2
Massenanteil an der Erdhülle 5,1 ppm
Atomar
Atommasse 44,955910 u
Atomradius 160 pm
Kovalenter Radius 170 pm
Elektronenkonf. [Ar] 3d(1) 4s2
1. Ionisierungsenergie 633,1 KJ/mol
2. Ionisierungsenergie 1235,0 KJ/mol
3. Ionisierungsenergie 2388,6 KJ/mol
Physikalisch
Aggregatszustand fest
Kristallstruktur hexagonal
Dichte 2,985 g/cm3
Magnetismus paramagnetisch (χm = 2,6 * 10(-4))
Schmelzpunkt 1814 K (1541 C)
Siedepunkt 3103 K (2830 C)
Molares Volumen 15,00 * 10(-6)m(3)/mol
Verdampfungswärme 318 KJ/mol
Schmelzwärme 16,0 KJ/mol
Elektrische Leitfähigkeit 1,81*10(6) A/(V*m)
Wärmeleitfähigkeit 16 W/(m*K)
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Seltene Erden abgelegt und mit , , , , , , , , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Hinterlasse eine Antwort