Promethium, Pm, Atomic number 61

General

Promethium (von Prometheus, a Titan in Greek mythology) is a chemical element with the element symbol Pm and atomic number 61. In the periodic table it is in the group of lanthanides and is thus also one of the rare earth metals.
Alle Promethium-Isotope sind radioaktiv, that is, all nuclei, the 61 Protons contained, are unstable and decompose. Promethium and technetium the lighter (43) are the only elements with smaller atomic number than lead (82), this property have.
The first discovery was published by Italian scientists Luigi Rolla and Lorenzo Fernandes from Florence. After the separation of didymium nitrate concentrate by fractional crystallization from the Brazilian mineral monazite, to which 70 % Dysprosium and neodymium as well as to 30 % consists of the other lanthanides, they were given a solution, mainly containing samarium. This solution gave X-ray spectra, them as elements samarium and 61 interpreted. They named the element 61 in honor of their city Florentium. The results were in 1926 published, But the scientists claimed, that the experiments in 1924 been carried out are.
In the same year 1926 published and Len Smith Hopkins at Yntema University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the discovery of the element 61. They called for the University Illinium.
Neither of these discoveries could be verified. Several groups have alleged, generates the element to have, but they could not confirm their discoveries because of the difficulty of separating promethium from other elements.

Extraction

There are no exact knowledge of Seperierung of promethium.

Special features

Promethium wurde 1945 im Oak Ridge National Laboratory (Tennessee, USA) Jacob A. Marinsky, Lawrence E. Glendenin and Charles D. Coryell was a cleavage product of the uranium deal entdeckt.Da it largely with military research during World War II, their discovery was first 1947 published. The name promethium they chose based on the Greek Titan Prometheus, The man brought the fire and so aroused the anger of the gods. This was meant as a warning to humanity, which began at this time with the nuclear arms race. The name was Grace Mary Coryell, Charles Frau Coryells, proposed.
In 1963 ion exchange methods were used in the ORNL, by about 10 Grams of promethium from the waste fuel from nuclear reactors could be erhalten.1963 Fritz Weigel first metallic promethium promethium by heating(III)-fluoride (PmF3) produced by lithium in tantalum crucibles.
In nature, promethium is mostly a product of spontaneous fission of uranium, as well as alpha decay of 151Eu Europiumisotops. Traces are found in pitchblende at a concentration of (4±1)·10−15 Gramm 147Pm pro kg. The uniform presence of promethium in the earth's crust is about 560 g of uranium fission and about 12 g by alpha decay of promethium was 151Eu.Auch in the emission spectrum of the star GY Andromedae demonstrated; and possibly in HD 101065 (Przybylski's star) and HD 965.
Since the isotope can be artificially produced as a fission product 147Pm in weighable quantities, it is possible, to investigate the properties very well. As a metal it is a typical representative of the lanthanides. The silver-white, relatively soft metal is oxidized in air very quickly and reacts slowly with water.
Promethium is only in its compounds in the oxidation state +3 before ([Car] 4f4). It gives off the two 6s electrons and one 4f electron. The solutions are colored violet shade pink. It provides, inter alia, a sparingly soluble fluoride, Oxalate and carbonate. Promethium(III)-oxide (Pm2O3) has three different modifications: a hexagonal A-form (violettbraun), a monoclinic B form (violettrosa) and a cubic C-shape (coral). The melting point is 2130 ° C
All halides from fluorine to iodine for the oxidation state +3 known.
Promethium(III)-fluoride (PmF3) is schwerlöIIIch in water; It is obtained from a nitric acid Pm3 solution by adding HF solution, the precipitate has a pale pink color. The melting point of the anhydrous compound is 1338 ° C. If PmF3·x H2O heated, then arises promethium(III)-oxifluorid (PmOF), which is colored purple pink.
Promethium(III)-chloride (PmCl3) is violet and has a melting point of 655 ° C. PmCl3 is heated in the presence of H2O, we obtain the pale pink colored promethium(III)-oxichlorid (PmOCl).
Promethium(III)-bromide (PmBr3) arises from Pm2O3 by heating in a dry stream of HBr. It is red and has a melting point of 660 ° C.
Promethium(III)-iodide (PmI3) is not represented by the reaction of Pm2O3 with HI-H2 mixtures, is formed instead promethium(III)-oxiiodid (PmOI). By reacting with molten Pm2O3 AlI3 at 500 ° C produced the desired product. It is red and has a melting point of 695 ° C.
Promethium(III)-hydroxide (Pm(OH)3) is obtained from a hydrochloric acid solution by introducing Pm3 NH3. Its color is purple pink.
Classifications of hazardous substance regulation does not lie, because they include only the hazardous chemical, and play a completely subordinate role compared to the radioactivity of the resulting dangers. Even the latter applies only, if there is a lot of material relevant to.

Use

Due to the short-lived isotopes and the very limited availability of this element is only in very small quantities of industrial use. The nuclides are 146Pm and 147Pm used as a stimulating beta emitters in luminous numerals of watches and cold light sources of signal systems.
In addition, the beta radiation of promethium for thickness measurement and radiometric level measurement used.
In the small space be used with radionuclide promethium.

General
Name, Symbol

Atomic number

Promethium, Pm, 61
Series Lanthanides
group, Period, Block The, 6, f
Appearance metallic
CAS-Nummer 7440-12-2
Mass fraction of element 1,1 ppm
Atomic
Atomic mass 164,93032 you
Atomradius 175 pm
Kovalenter Radius 192 pm
Elektronenkonf. [Car] 4f(11) 6s2
1. Ionization 581,0 KJ / mol
2. Ionization 1170 KJ / mol
3. Ionization 2204 KJ / mol
Physically
Physical State fixed
Crystal structure hexagonal
Density 8,78 g/cm3 (25 ° C)
Magnetism paramagnetisch (χm = 0,049)
Melting point 1734 K (1431 C)
Boiling point 2993 K (2720 C)
Molar Volume 18,74 * 10(-6)m(3)/mol
Heat of vaporization 265 KJ / mol
Schmelzwärme 17,0 KJ / mol
Electrical conductivity 1,23*10(6) A/(V * m)
Thermal conductivity 16 W /(m*K)
This entry was posted in Rare earth and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Promethium, Pm, Ordnungszahl 61

Allgemeines

Promethium (von Prometheus, einem Titanen der griechischen Mythologie) ist ein chemisches Element mit dem Elementsymbol Pm und der Ordnungszahl 61. Im Periodensystem steht es in der Gruppe der Lanthanoide und zÀhlt damit auch zu den Metallen der seltenen Erden.
Alle Promethium-Isotope sind radioaktiv, das heißt, sĂ€mtliche Atomkerne, die 61 Protonen enthalten, sind instabil und zerfallen. Promethium und das leichtere Technetium (43) sind die einzigen Elemente mit kleinerer Ordnungszahl als Blei (82), die diese Eigenschaft besitzen.
Die erste Entdeckung wurde von den italienischen Wissenschaftlern Luigi Rolla und Lorenzo Fernandes aus Florenz veröffentlicht. Nach der Trennung eines Didym-Nitrat-Konzentrats durch fraktionierte Kristallisation aus dem brasilianischen Mineral Monazit, welches zu 70 % Dysprosium und Neodym sowie zu 30 % aus den anderen Lanthanoiden besteht, erhielten sie eine Lösung, die hauptsĂ€chlich Samarium enthielt. Diese Lösung ergab Röntgenspektren, die sie als Samarium und Element 61 interpretierten. Sie benannten das Element 61 zu Ehren ihrer Stadt Florentium. Die Ergebnisse wurden im Jahr 1926 veröffentlicht, doch die Wissenschaftler behaupteten, dass die Experimente im Jahr 1924 durchgefĂŒhrt worden seien.
Im selben Jahr 1926 veröffentlichten Smith Hopkins und Len Yntema an University of Illinois in Urbana-Champaign die Entdeckung des Elements 61. Sie nannten es nach der UniversitÀt Illinium.
Keine der beiden Entdeckungen konnte ĂŒberprĂŒft werden. So behaupteten mehrere Gruppen, das Element erzeugt zu haben, aber sie konnten ihre Entdeckungen aufgrund der Schwierigkeiten bei der Trennung von Promethium von den anderen Elementen nicht bestĂ€tigen.

Gewinnung

Es liegen keine genauen Kenntnisse zur Seperierung von Promethium vor.

Besonderheiten

Promethium wurde 1945 im Oak Ridge National Laboratory (Tennessee, USA) von Jacob A. Marinsky, Lawrence E. Glendenin und Charles D. Coryell als Spaltprodukt des Urans entdeckt.Da sie in großem Maße mit militĂ€rischen Forschungen wĂ€hrend des Zweiten Weltkriegs befasst waren, wurde ihre Entdeckung erst 1947 veröffentlicht. Den Namen Promethium wĂ€hlten sie in Anlehnung an den griechischen Titanen Prometheus, der den Menschen das Feuer brachte und so den Zorn der Götter erweckte. Dies war als Warnung an die Menschheit gedacht, die zu diesem Zeitpunkt mit dem nuklearen WettrĂŒsten begann. Der Name wurde von Grace Mary Coryell, Charles Coryells Frau, vorgeschlagen.
Im Jahr 1963 wurden Ionenaustausch-Methoden im ORNL verwendet, um etwa 10 Gramm Promethium aus den BrennstoffabfÀllen von Kernreaktoren zu erhalten.1963 konnte Fritz Weigel erstmals metallisches Promethium durch Erhitzen von Promethium(III)-fluorid (PmF3) mit Lithium im Tantal-Tiegel herstellen.
In der Natur findet sich Promethium zumeist als Produkt der Spontanspaltung von Uran sowie durch Alphazerfall des Europiumisotops 151Eu. In Spuren findet es sich in Pechblende in einer Konzentration von (4±1)·10−15 Gramm 147Pm pro kg. Das gleichmĂ€ĂŸige Vorkommen von Promethium in der Erdkruste betrĂ€gt etwa 560 g durch Uranspaltung und etwa 12 g durch Alphazerfall von 151Eu.Auch wurde Promethium im Emissionsspektrum des Sterns GY Andromedae nachgewiesen; und möglicherweise in HD 101065 (Przybylski’s star) und HD 965.
Da das Isotop 147Pm kĂŒnstlich als Spaltprodukt in wĂ€gbaren Mengen gewonnen werden kann, ist es möglich, die Eigenschaften recht gut zu untersuchen. Als Metall ist es ein typischer Vertreter der Lanthanoide. Das silberweiße, relativ weiche Metall wird an der Luft recht rasch oxidiert und reagiert langsam mit Wasser.
Promethium kommt in seinen Verbindungen ausschließlich in der Oxidationsstufe +3 vor ([Xe] 4f4). Es gibt dabei die beiden 6s-Elektronen und ein 4f-Elektron ab. Die Lösungen sind violettstichig rosa gefĂ€rbt. Es bildet unter anderem ein schwerlösliches Fluorid, Oxalat und Carbonat. Promethium(III)-oxid (Pm2O3) besitzt drei verschiedene Modifikationen: eine hexagonale A-Form (violettbraun), eine monokline B-Form (violettrosa) und eine kubische C-Form (korallenrot). Der Schmelzpunkt betrĂ€gt 2130 °C
SĂ€mtliche Halogenide von Fluor bis Iod sind fĂŒr die Oxidationsstufe +3 bekannt.
Promethium(III)-fluorid (PmF3) ist in Wasser schwerlöslich; man erhÀlt es aus einer salpetersauren Pm3+-Lösung durch Zugabe von HF-Lösung, der Niederschlag besitzt eine blassrosa Farbe. Der Schmelzpunkt der wasserfreien Verbindung betrÀgt 1338 °C. Wird PmF3·x H2O erhitzt, dann entsteht Promethium(III)-oxifluorid (PmOF), das violettrosa gefÀrbt ist.
Promethium(III)-chlorid (PmCl3) ist violett und hat einen Schmelzpunkt von 655 °C. Wird PmCl3 in Gegenwart von H2O erhitzt, so erhÀlt man das blassrosa gefÀrbte Promethium(III)-oxichlorid (PmOCl).
Promethium(III)-bromid (PmBr3) entsteht aus Pm2O3 durch Erhitzen im trockenen HBr-Strom. Es ist rot und hat einen Schmelzpunkt von 660 °C.
Promethium(III)-iodid (PmI3) ist nicht aus Pm2O3 durch Reaktion mit HI-H2-Gemischen darstellbar, es bildet sich stattdessen Promethium(III)-oxiiodid (PmOI). Durch Reaktion von Pm2O3 mit geschmolzenem AlI3 bei 500 °C entsteht das gewĂŒnschte Produkt. Es ist rot und hat einen Schmelzpunkt von 695 °C.
Promethium(III)-hydroxid (Pm(OH)3) erhÀlt man aus einer salzsauren Pm3+-Lösung durch Einleiten von NH3. Seine Farbe ist violettrosa.
Einstufungen nach der Gefahrstoffverordnung liegen nicht vor, weil diese nur die chemische GefĂ€hrlichkeit umfassen und eine völlig untergeordnete Rolle gegenĂŒber den auf der RadioaktivitĂ€t beruhenden Gefahren spielen. Auch Letzteres gilt nur, wenn es sich um eine dafĂŒr relevante Stoffmenge handelt.

Verwendung

Aufgrund der kurzlebigen Isotope und der sehr geringen VerfĂŒgbarkeit findet dieses Element nur in kleinsten Mengen technische Verwendung. Die Nuklide 146Pm und 147Pm werden als anregender Betastrahler in Leuchtziffern von Uhren und in Kaltlichtquellen von Signalanlagen verwendet.
Außerdem wird die Betastrahlung des Promethiums zur radiometrischen Dickenmessung und FĂŒllstandsmessung herangezogen.
In der Raumfahrt werden kleine Radionuklidbatterien mit Promethium verwendet.

Allgemein
Name, Symbol

Ordnungszahl

Promethium, Pm, 61
Serie Lanthanoide
Gruppe, Periode, Block La, 6, f
Aussehen metallisch
CAS-Nummer 7440-12-2
Massenanteil an der ErdhĂŒlle 1,1 ppm
Atomar
Atommasse 164,93032 u
Atomradius 175 pm
Kovalenter Radius 192 pm
Elektronenkonf. [Xe] 4f(11) 6s2
1. Ionisierungsenergie 581,0 KJ/mol
2. Ionisierungsenergie 1170 KJ/mol
3. Ionisierungsenergie 2204 KJ/mol
Physikalisch
Aggregatszustand fest
Kristallstruktur hexagonal
Dichte 8,78 g/cm3 (25 °C)
Magnetismus paramagnetisch (χm = 0,049)
Schmelzpunkt 1734 K (1431 C)
Siedepunkt 2993 K (2720 C)
Molares Volumen 18,74 * 10(-6)m(3)/mol
VerdampfungswÀrme 265 KJ/mol
SchmelzwÀrme 17,0 KJ/mol
Elektrische LeitfÀhigkeit 1,23*10(6) A/(V*m)
WÀrmeleitfÀhigkeit 16 W/(m*K)
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Seltene Erden abgelegt und mit , , , , , , , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Hinterlasse eine Antwort