Gadolinium, Gd, Atomic number 64

General

Gadolinium is a chemical element with the element symbol Gd and atomic number 64. In the periodic table it is in the group of lanthanides and is thus also one of the rare earth metals.

The first element of the yttrium earths in the periodic table was 1880 found spectroscopically by Jean Charles de Marignac in Galissard didymium and gadolinite. 1886 he put it forth as a white oxide of Y samarskite and called out samarskite. In the same year, Paul Emile Lecoq de Boisbaudran ago gadolinia and also called the new element to the discoverer of the mineral gadolinite, the Finnish chemist Johan Gadolin, Gadolinium.

Only 1935 Georges Urbain succeeded in the representation of the metal.

Of course, comes only in gadolinium compounds. Technically significant monazite and bastnaesite are. The Gadolinitvorkommen in the pit Ytterby, north of Stockholm, are now exhausted.

Extraction

After extensive separation of the other Gadoliniumbegleiter, the oxide with hydrogen fluoride to Gadoliniuimfluorid reacted. Subsequently, this reduced with calcium to form calcium fluoride to the metallic gadolinium. The removal of residual calcium residues and contaminants carried in an additional remelting in vacuum.

Special features

The silvery white to gray-white lustrous rare earth metal is ductile and malleable. At temperatures above 1508 K transforms the densest packing of spheres in a body-centered cubic crystal structure at. In dry air is relatively stable gadolinium, in moist air it forms a non-protective, and loosely adhering oxide layer from flaking. With water it reacts slowly. In dilute acids, it dissolves.

Gadolinium has 49.000 neighbors because of its isotope contained Gd-157 (with 254.000 barn) the highest thermal neutron capture cross section for all known stable elements (only the unstable Xe-135 exceeds Gd-157 by about a factor 10). The high burn-up rate (burn-out-rate) limited use as a control rod in nuclear reactors, a strong.

Together with dysprosium, Holmium, Erbium and terbium, are assigned the same group of the lanthanides, It belongs to the single elements - except iron, Cobalt and nickel - have a ferromagnetism. However, it has to first under its ferromagnetic Curie temperature of 292,5 K (19,3 ° C) be accommodated.[6]

Contrary to many references gadolinium is not superconductive. This is based on the experience, impurities that ferromagnetic materials like iron and gadolinium, the superconductivity destruction of other elements. There are, however, ceramic high-temperature superconductors of the type known Ba2GdCu3O7-x with a transition temperature between 80-85 K.

Dusts of metallic gadolinium are fire- and potentially dangerous.

Use

Gadolinium is used for the preparation of gadolinium-yttrium garnet for microwave applications. Oxysulfides used for the production of green phosphor for luminescent screens (Radar).

Intravenously injected gadolinium(III)-Connections, such as gadopentetate dimeglumine, serve as a contrast agent in magnetic resonance imaging studies. These are due to the high toxicity of free gadolinium ions complexing with a high complex-, such as DTPA chelates (Diethylenetriaminepentaacetic) and DOTA (1,4,7,10-Tetraazacyclododecan-1 ,4,7,10-tetraessigsäure, Gd = gadoteric acid), used. The seven unpaired electrons in the f shell is strongly paramagnetic gadolinium. The contrast agent allowing the surrounding protons - mainly water - relax more quickly. This contrasts the differences between various tissues increased significantly in an MRI scan.
Even for studies on the brain, these contrast agents are used, because the gadolinium complexes can not cross the blood-brain barrier in healthy patients and therefore a blood-brain barrier disruption - a reference to an abnormal event (e.g.. Hypoperfusion, Tumor, Inflammation) - To make visible.

Gadolinium gallium garnet was used for the preparation of magnetic bubble storage. Also in the production of rewritable compact discs, it is applicable.

Additions of 1 % Gadolinium increase the workability and high temperature- and oxidation resistance of iron- and chromium alloys. Corresponding Gadoliniumeisenkobalt alloys can be used for opto-magnetic data storage.

Gadolinium may, since it has a Curie point near the room temperature, in refrigerators, the function on the principle of the adiabatic magnetization, Find use. Such cooling devices would no ozone-depleting chlorofluorocarbons, hydrochlorofluorocarbons (CFC) and manage possessed no mechanical parts subject to wear.

Gadolinium is used in the form of gadolinium oxide in modern fuel as burnable absorber material, the fuel assemblies according to one change at the beginning of the cycle of operation by an excess of nuclear fuel resulting limited to high reactivity of the reactor. With increasing fuel burnup of gadolinium is also reduced.[7]

With terbium-doped gadolinium oxysulfide (Gd2O2S:Tb) is a frequently used technique in the X-ray scintillator. Gd2O2S:Tb emits light having a wavelength of 545nm.

There is no known biological function of the gadolinium.

Free gadolinium ions behave similarly to calcium ions, that is, They are built mainly in the liver and the skeletal system and can remain there for years. Free gadolinium also affected as a calcium antagonist - the ionic radii of calcium and gadolinium are almost identical - the contractility of the myocardium and inhibits the clotting system.[9]

Intravenously administered solutions of free gadolinium ions are acutely toxic. Affected by the toxicity include the smooth and striated muscle, mitochondrial function and blood clotting.[10]

The toxicity of free gadolinium is highly classified as. In complexed form, as the gadolinium contrast agent approved in the present, however, it is good considering the contraindications are generally compatible. Since 2006 There are increasing reports, that patients with kidney failure after administration of gadolinium chelates of various, especially Gd-DTPA, can lead to symptoms of nephrogenic systemic fibrosis.

General
Name, Symbol

Atomic number

Gadolinium, Gd, 64
Series Lanthanides
group, Period, Block The, 6, f
Appearance silvery white
CAS-Nummer 7440-54-2
Mass fraction of element 5,9 ppm
Atomic
Atomic mass 157,25 you
Atomradius 188 pm
Kovalenter Radius 196 pm
Elektronenkonf. [Car] 4f(7) 5d(1) 6s2
1. Ionization 593,4 KJ / mol
2. Ionization 1170 KJ / mol
3. Ionization 1990 KJ / mol
Physically
Physical State fixed
Crystal structure hexagonal
Density 7,886 g/cm3 (25 ° C)
Magnetism paramagnetisch (χm = 0,12)
Melting point 1585 K (1312 C)
Boiling point 3523 K (3250 C)
Molar Volume 19,90 * 10(-6)m(3)/mol
Heat of vaporization 305 KJ / mol
Schmelzwärme 10,0 KJ / mol
Electrical conductivity 0,763*10(6) A/(V * m)
Thermal conductivity 11 W /(m*K)
This entry was posted in Rare earth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Gadolinium, Gd, Ordnungszahl 64

Allgemeines

Gadolinium ist ein chemisches Element mit dem Elementsymbol Gd und der Ordnungszahl 64. Im Periodensystem steht es in der Gruppe der Lanthanoide und zÀhlt damit auch zu den Metallen der seltenen Erden.

Das erste Element der Yttererden im Periodensystem wurde 1880 spektroskopisch von Jean Charles Galissard de Marignac im Didym und Gadolinit gefunden. 1886 stellte er es als weißes Oxid aus Samarskit her und nannte es Y aus Samarskit. Im gleichen Jahr stellte Paul Emile Lecoq de Boisbaudran ebenfalls Gadoliniumoxid her und nannte das neue Element nach dem Entdecker des Minerals Gadolinit, dem finnischen Chemiker Johan Gadolin, Gadolinium.

Erst 1935 gelang Georges Urbain die Darstellung des Metalls.

NatĂŒrlich kommt Gadolinium nur in Verbindungen vor. Technisch bedeutsam sind Monazit und BastnĂ€sit. Die Gadolinitvorkommen in der Grube Ytterby, nördlich von Stockholm, sind heute erschöpft.

Gewinnung

Nach einer aufwendigen Abtrennung der anderen Gadoliniumbegleiter wird das Oxid mit Fluorwasserstoff zum Gadoliniuimfluorid umgesetzt. Anschließend wird dieses mit Calcium unter Bildung von Calciumfluorid zum metallischen Gadolinium reduziert. Die Abtrennung verbleibender Calciumreste und Verunreinigungen erfolgt in einer zusĂ€tzlichen Umschmelzung im Vakuum.

Besonderheiten

Das silbrigweiß bis grauweiß glĂ€nzende Metall der seltenen Erden ist duktil und schmiedbar. Bei Temperaturen oberhalb 1508 K wandelt sich die dichteste Kugelpackung in eine kubisch-raumzentrierte Kristallstruktur um. In trockener Luft ist Gadolinium relativ bestĂ€ndig, in feuchter Luft bildet es eine nichtschĂŒtzende, lose anhaftende und abblĂ€tternde Oxidschicht aus. Mit Wasser reagiert es langsam. In verdĂŒnnten SĂ€uren löst es sich auf.

Gadolinium hat mit 49.000 barn wegen seines enthaltenen Isotops Gd-157 (mit 254.000 barn) den höchsten Einfangquerschnitt fĂŒr thermische Neutronen aller bekannten stabilen Elemente (nur das instabile Xe-135 ĂŒbertrifft Gd-157 etwa um einen Faktor 10). Die hohe Abbrandrate (burn-out-rate) schrĂ€nkt eine Verwendung als Steuerstab in Kernreaktoren stark ein.

Zusammen mit Dysprosium, Holmium, Erbium und Terbium, die ebenso der Gruppe der Lanthanoiden zugeordnet sind, gehört es zu den einzigen Elementen – ausgenommen Eisen, Cobalt und Nickel – die einen Ferromagnetismus aufweisen. Jedoch muss es dazu erst unter seine ferromagnetische Curie-Temperatur von 292,5 K (19,3 °C) gebracht werden.[6]

Entgegen vielen Literaturangaben ist Gadolinium nicht supraleitfĂ€hig. Dies begrĂŒndet sich auch auf der Erfahrung, dass Verunreinigungen ferromagnetischer Stoffe wie Eisen und Gadolinium die SupraleitfĂ€higkeit anderer Elemente zerstört. Es sind aber keramische Hochtemperatur-Supraleiter des Typs Ba2GdCu3O7-x mit einer Sprungtemperatur zwischen 80–85 K bekannt.

StÀube von metallischem Gadolinium sind feuer- und explosionsgefÀhrlich.

Verwendung

Gadolinium wird zur Herstellung von Gadolinium-Yttrium-Granat fĂŒr Mikrowellenanwendungen verwendet. Oxysulfide dienen zur Herstellung von grĂŒnem Leuchtstoff fĂŒr nachleuchtende Bildschirme (Radar).

Intravenös injizierte Gadolinium(III)-Verbindungen, wie zum Beispiel Gadopentetat-Dimeglumin, dienen als Kontrastmittel bei Untersuchungen im Kernspintomographen. Dazu werden wegen der hohen Giftigkeit von freien Gadolinium-Ionen Komplexierungsmittel mit hoher Komplexierungskonstante, wie beispielsweise die Chelate DTPA (DiethylentriaminpentaessigsĂ€ure) und DOTA (1,4,7,10-Tetraazacyclododecan-1,4,7,10-tetraessigsĂ€ure, mit Gd = GadotersĂ€ure), verwendet. Durch die sieben ungepaarten Elektronen in der f-Schale ist Gadolinium stark paramagnetisch. Das Kontrastmittel ermöglicht so den umgebenden Protonen – im wesentlichen Wasser – schneller zu relaxieren. Dies erhöht die Kontrastunterschiede zwischen verschiedenen Geweben in einer MRT-Aufnahme erheblich.
Auch fĂŒr Untersuchungen am Gehirn können diese Kontrastmittel verwendet werden, da die Gadolinium-Komplexe die Blut-Hirn-Schranke bei gesunden Patienten nicht ĂŒberwinden und somit eine Blut-Hirn-Schrankenstörung – ein Hinweis auf ein pathologisches Geschehen (z.B. Mangeldurchblutung, Tumor, EntzĂŒndung) – sichtbar machen können.

Gadolinium-Gallium-Granat wurde zur Herstellung von Magnetblasenspeichern genutzt. Auch in der Herstellung von wiederbeschreibbaren Compact Discs findet es Anwendung.

ZusÀtze von 1 % Gadolinium erhöhen die Bearbeitbarkeit und die Hochtemperatur- und OxidationsbestÀndigkeit von Eisen- und Chromlegierungen. Entsprechende Gadoliniumeisenkobalt-Legierungen können zur optomagnetischen Datenspeicherung eingesetzt werden.

Gadolinium könnte, da es einen Curie-Punkt nahe der Zimmertemperatur besitzt, in KĂŒhlgerĂ€ten, die nach dem Prinzip der adiabatischen Magnetisierung funktionieren, Verwendung finden. Solche KĂŒhlgerĂ€te wĂŒrden ohne die Ozonschicht schĂ€digende Fluorchlorkohlenwasserstoffe (FCKW) auskommen und besĂ€ĂŸen keine dem Verschleiß unterliegenden mechanischen Teile.

Gadolinium wird in Form von Gadoliniumoxid in modernen Brennelementen als abbrennbares Absorbermaterial verwendet, das nach einem Brennelementewechsel zu Beginn des Betriebszyklus die durch einen Überschuss an Kernbrennstoff entstehende zu hohe ReaktivitĂ€t des Reaktors begrenzt. Mit zunehmendem Abbrand der Brennelemente wird auch das Gadolinium abgebaut.[7]

Mit Terbium dotiertes Gadolinium-Oxysulfid (Gd2O2S:Tb) ist ein in der Röntgentechnik hÀufig eingesetzter Szintillator. Gd2O2S:Tb emittiert Licht mit einer WellenlÀnge von 545nm.

Es ist keine biologische Funktion des Gadoliniums bekannt.

Freie Gadolinium-Ionen verhalten sich Ă€hnlich wie Calcium-Ionen, das heißt, sie werden vorwiegend in der Leber und im Knochensystem eingebaut und können dort ĂŒber Jahre verbleiben. Freies Gadolinium beeinflusst außerdem als Calciumantagonist – die Ionenradien von Calcium und Gadolinium sind nahezu gleich – die KontraktilitĂ€t des Myokards und hemmt das Gerinnungssystem.[9]

Intravenös applizierte Lösungen von freien Gadolinium-Ionen wirken akut toxisch. Von der ToxizitÀt betroffen sind unter anderem die glatte und die quergestreifte Muskulatur, die Funktion der Mitochondrien und die Blutgerinnung.[10]

Die ToxizitĂ€t von freiem Gadolinium ist als hoch einzustufen. In komplexierter Form, so wie das Gadolinium in den zugelassenen Kontrastmitteln vorliegt, ist es dagegen unter BerĂŒcksichtigung der Kontraindikationen im Allgemeinen gut vertrĂ€glich. Seit 2006 gibt es zunehmend Berichte, dass es bei niereninsuffizienten Patienten nach Gabe verschiedener Chelate des Gadoliniums, insbesondere Gd-DTPA, zum Krankheitsbild der nephrogenen systemischen Fibrose kommen kann.

Allgemein
Name, Symbol

Ordnungszahl

Gadolinium, Gd, 64
Serie Lanthanoide
Gruppe, Periode, Block La, 6, f
Aussehen silbrig weiß
CAS-Nummer 7440-54-2
Massenanteil an der ErdhĂŒlle 5,9 ppm
Atomar
Atommasse 157,25 u
Atomradius 188 pm
Kovalenter Radius 196 pm
Elektronenkonf. [Xe] 4f(7) 5d(1) 6s2
1. Ionisierungsenergie 593,4 KJ/mol
2. Ionisierungsenergie 1170 KJ/mol
3. Ionisierungsenergie 1990 KJ/mol
Physikalisch
Aggregatszustand fest
Kristallstruktur hexagonal
Dichte 7,886 g/cm3 (25 °C)
Magnetismus paramagnetisch (χm = 0,12)
Schmelzpunkt 1585 K (1312 C)
Siedepunkt 3523 K (3250 C)
Molares Volumen 19,90 * 10(-6)m(3)/mol
VerdampfungswÀrme 305 KJ/mol
SchmelzwÀrme 10,0 KJ/mol
Elektrische LeitfÀhigkeit 0,763*10(6) A/(V*m)
WÀrmeleitfÀhigkeit 11 W/(m*K)
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Seltene Erden abgelegt und mit , , , , , , , , , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Hinterlasse eine Antwort