Earth Day lecture event “Rare earth – Opportunities and risks for resource protection and future technologies”

23.03.2012 – Earth Day lecture event
Rare earth – Opportunities and risks for resource protection and future technologies”

Zepf and Professor Volker. Roderick G. Eggert, Ph.D.
18. April 2012, 10:00 – 12:30 Clock, in the Institut Dr.. Flat

The group of rare earths, overall 17 Elements, has attracted in recent months, enormous attention, because they represent a number of studies in the U.S. and Europe, according to the most critical elements of the present. They are essential for the production of iPhones, Computer Hard Drives, Wind turbines and electric cars, then the media. Correct this problem is the quasi-monopoly position of China, because China supports nearly the entire world production. Now, China has increasingly restricted the supply of rare earths, which resulted in considerable price fluctuations and to the west is accompanied with great concern.

New research shows, however,, that the issue of rare earths is anticipated wrong. It is all about, the real issues to clearly identify and demonstrate approaches, the chances, the use of rare earth elements in high-technology, Lifestyle, Medical and climate-related applications,, use and efficient to be able to.

The speakers and their topics:

Rare earth, sustainable strategies, Volker Zepf, University of Augsburg
Geographer (univ.)

Volker Zepf Researcher at the Department of Resource Strategy at the University of Augsburg. Volker Zepf has been 2009 Research Associate at the Institute for Resource Strategy in Prof. Dr. Armin Reller, University of Augsburg. He has in the first quarter 2012 completed his dissertation on the topic (Working title): “Rare Elements – an analysis in space and time.” After studying geography with a focus on Human Geography and GIScience during the years 2005 to 2009 he inquired with a degree in geography (univ.) u.a. about “Neo-colonial times in Africa. The importance of strategic mineral commodities in a globalized world.” Previously, he worked as a professional soldier in the fighter pilot TORNADO, Flight instructor, in hardware- and software development, and the staff worked and finished his army career as a lieutenant colonel.

Rare Earths: A U.S. Perspective on Strategic Importance, Availability and Public Policies Prof.. Roderick G. Eggert, Ph.D., Colorado School of Mines
Prof.. Roderick G. Eggert, Colorado School of Mines
Prof.. Roderick G. Eggert (B.A., Earth Sciences, Dartmouth College, M.S, Geochemistry and Mineralogy, The Pennsylvania State University, PhD, Mineral Economics, The Pennsylvania State University) ist Direktor der Division of Economics and Business an der Colorado School of Mines. As a leading expert in the technological, economic and strategic importance of rare earths, he was 2010 from U.S. Senate and 2011 by the European Parliament invited to attend hearings. In 2010 erhielt er den Mineral Economics Award des American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers and was Chairman of the Committee of the U.S.. National Research Council, the 2008 the book “Minerals, Critical Minerals, and the U.S. Economy published ".

Those: Institute Dr. Flat

This entry was posted in Rare earth and the research and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Earth Day Vortragsveranstaltung “Seltene Erden – Chancen und Risiken für Ressourcensicherung und Zukunftstechnologien”

23.03.2012 – Earth Day Vortragsveranstaltung
Seltene Erden – Chancen und Risiken für Ressourcensicherung und Zukunftstechnologien”

Mit Volker Zepf und Prof. Roderick G. Eggert, Ph.D.
18. April 2012, 10:00 – 12:30 Uhr, im Institut Dr. Flad

Die Gruppe der Seltenen Erden, insgesamt 17 Elemente, hat in den vergangenen Monaten eine enorme Aufmerksamkeit erregt, da sie mehreren Studien in den USA und Europa zufolge die kritischsten Elemente der Gegenwart darstellen. Sie seien unabdingbar für die Produktion von iPhones, Computerfestplatten, Windräder und Elektroautos, so die Medien. Richtig problematisch ist dabei die quasi-Monopolstellung Chinas, da China annähernd die gesamte Weltproduktion fördert. Nun hat China zunehmend das Angebot an Seltenen Erden eingeschränkt, was zu enormen Preissprüngen führte und im Westen mit großer Sorge begleitet wird.

Eine neue Forschungsarbeit zeigt jedoch, dass das Thema Seltene Erden falsch antizipiert wird. Es geht also darum, die tatsächlichen Probleme eindeutig zu identifizieren und Lösungsansätze aufzuzeigen, um die Chancen, die der Einsatz der Seltenen Erden in Hochtechnologie, Lifestyle, Medizin und klimarelevanten Anwendungen bietet, auch effizient nutzen zu können.

Die Vortragenden und ihre Themen:

Seltene Erden, nachhaltige Strategien, Volker Zepf, Universität Augsburg
Diplom-Geograph (univ.)

Volker Zepf Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Ressourcenstrategie der Universität Augsburg. Volker Zepf ist seit 2009 Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Ressourcenstrategie bei Prof. Dr. Armin Reller an der Universität Augsburg. Er hat im ersten Quartal 2012 seine Dissertation abgeschlossen zum Thema (Arbeitstitel): “Rare Elements – an analysis in space and time.” Nach einem Studium der Geographie mit Schwerpunkt Humangeographie und Geoinformatik in den Jahren 2005 bis 2009 forschte er als Diplom-Geograph (univ.) u.a. zum Thema “Afrika in neokolonialistischen Zeiten. Die Bedeutung der strategischen mineralischen Rohstoffe in einer globalisier-ten Welt.” Zuvor war er als Berufssoldat Pilot auf dem Kampfflugzeug TORNADO, Fluglehrer, in der Hard- und Softwareentwicklung und im Stab tätig und beendete seine Bundeswehr-Karriere als Oberstleutnant.

Rare Earths: A U.S. Perspective on Strategic Importance, Availability and Public Policies Prof. Roderick G. Eggert, Ph.D., Colorado School of Mines
Prof. Roderick G. Eggert, Colorado School of Mines
Prof. Roderick G. Eggert (B.A., Earth Sciences, Dartmouth College, M.S, Geochemistry and Mineralogy, The Pennsylvania State University, PhD, Mineral Economics, The Pennsylvania State University) ist Direktor der Division of Economics and Business an der Colorado School of Mines. Als führender Experte für die technologische, wirtschaftliche und strategische Bedeutung Seltener Erden wurde er 2010 vom U.S. Senat und 2011 vom Europäischen Parlament zu Anhörungen geladen. Im Jahr 2010 erhielt er den Mineral Economics Award des American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers und war Vorsitzender des Komitees des U.S. National Research Council, das 2008 das Buch “Minerals, Critical Minerals, and the U.S. Economy“ veröffentlichte.

Quelle: Institut Dr. Flad

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Seltene Erden und die Forschung abgelegt und mit , , , , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Hinterlasse eine Antwort