Lanthanum, The, Atomic number 57

General

Lanthanum [lanta ː n] is a chemical element with the element symbol La and atomic number 57. It is one of the transition metals and the rare earth metals, in the periodic table it is in the 6. Period and the 3. Subgroup (group 3) or scandium. Usually it is also numbered among the lanthanides, even if the f-shell of the element is unoccupied.

Lanthanum (Greek. err, lanthanein, "Be hidden") was 1839 by the Swedish chemist Carl Gustav and surgeon discovered Mosander. For a supposedly pure cerium nitrate, he won by fractional crystallization of lanthanum.

Lanthanum is of course only in chemical compounds present accompanied by other lanthanides in various minerals. Mainly, these are:

Monazite ((This, The, Th, Nd, And)PO4)
Bastnäsit ((This, The, And)CO3F)

Extraction

After extensive separation of the other Lanthanbegleiter, the oxide with hydrogen fluoride to lanthanum fluoride reacted. Subsequently, this reduced with calcium to form calcium fluoride to lanthanum. The removal of residual calcium residues and contaminants carried in an additional remelting in vacuum.

Special features

The silver-white lustrous metal is malleable and ductile. There are three metallic modifications.

Lanthanum is ignoble. It covers on the air quickly with a white oxide, which continues to react in moist air to the hydroxide.

At temperatures above 440 ° C to burn lanthanum lanthanum (La2O3). Causes the formation of hydrogen in cold water, a slow, in warm water for a rapid response to Hydroxid.In dilute acids lanthanum dissolves with evolution of hydrogen auf.Mit many elements it reacts directly in the heat, with halogens at room temperature. Lanthanum and hydrogen form a black, water-sensitive hydride unstöchiometrisches.

Use

Lanthanum is a component in the mixed metal. Pyrophoric materials contained flints for 25 to 45 Weight percent lanthanum. In addition, it is used as a reducing agent in metallurgy. As a cast iron addition, it supports the formation of spheroidal graphite, as an alloying addition, it improves the oxidation resistance. Lanthanbeimengungen reduce the hardness and temperature sensitivity of molybdenum.

High-quality cathodes for the generation of free electrons are made of lanthanum hexaboride as a replacement for tungsten filament. High-purity lanthanum oxide is z in the glass industry to produce high quality glasses with high refractive index on the optical. B. used for camera lenses.

mit Cobalt:

The cobalt-lanthanum alloy LaCo5 is a magnetic material, lanthandotiertes barium titanate for the production of thermistors (temperature-dependent resistors) used. In conjunction with cobalt, Require, Mangan, Strontium u. a. it serves as a cathode for high temperature fuel cell (SOFC). "Contaminated" lanthanum-nickel (LaNi5) is used as hydrogen storage in nickel-metal hydride batteries used. As an extra, it comes in carbon arc lamps for studio lighting and Filmvorführanlagen (historical application?) before.

mit Titan:

A metal alloy material with compositions of lanthanum and titanium is attributed to the effect, that span is reduced visual processing, the chip length. This is intended to facilitate the processing of the metal.

In the medical field are made of the metal alloy corrosion resistant and readily sterilizable instruments. This metal alloy with titanium to be suitable for tools and equipment for surgical procedures particularly well, because the allergy tendency to be low when using such metal alloy with titanium in comparison with other alloys to.

Als Lanthanoxid

Preparation of glasses (Lanthanglas) with comparatively high refractive index, which in turn changes only slightly with the wavelength (Dispersion geringe), for cameras, Telescopic lenses and eyeglasses
Production of crystal glass and porcelain glazes. It replaces more toxic lead compounds with the simultaneous improvement of chemical resistance (Improvement of alkali resistance, "Dishwasher safe")
Addition of a catalyst in fluid catalytic cracking on zeolites in petroleum refinery for processing
Production of ceramic capacitor materials and silicate-free glasses
Component of glass polishing agents
Manufacture of thermionic cathodes for electronic tubes (also Lanthanboride)

Als Lanthancarbonat

Drug to reduce phosphate levels in dialysis patients (suction. Phosphate binder)

Lanthanum is considered less toxic than. A toxic dose is unknown. Nevertheless, when lanthanum powder as a highly corrosive, because it very easily by e.g.. Skin moisture responds to basic lanthanum (similar to the elements calcium and strontium). The lethal dose in rats 720 mg.

General
Name, Symbol, Number Lanthanum, The, 57
Series Transition metals
group, Period, Block 3, 6, d
Appearance silvery white
CAS-Nummer 7439-91-0
Mass fraction of element 17 ppm
Atomic
Atomic mass 138,9055 you
Atomradius 195 pm
Kovalenter Radius 207 pm
Elektronenkonf. [Car] 5d(1) 6s2
1. Ionization 538,1 KJ / mol
2. Ionization 1067 KJ / mol
3. Ionization 1850 KJ / mol
Physically
Physical State fixed
Crystal structure hexagonal
Density 6,17 g/cm3 (20 ° C)
Magnetism paramagnetisch (χm = 5,4 * 10(-5))
Melting point 1193 K (920 C)
Boiling point 3743 K (3470 C)
Molar Volume 22,39 * 10(-6)m(3)/mol
Heat of vaporization 400 KJ / mol
Schmelzwärme 6,2 KJ / mol
Electrical conductivity 1,626*10(6) A/(V * m)
Thermal conductivity 13 W /(m*K)
This entry was posted in Rare earth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Lanthan, La, Ordnungszahl 57

Allgemeines

Lanthan [lanˈtaːn] ist ein chemisches Element mit dem Elementsymbol La und der Ordnungszahl 57. Es zählt zu den Übergangsmetallen sowie den Metallen der seltenen Erden, im Periodensystem steht es in der 6. Periode und der 3. Nebengruppe (Gruppe 3) oder Scandiumgruppe. Meist wird es auch zu den Lanthanoiden gezählt, auch wenn die f-Schale des Elementes unbesetzt ist.

Lanthan (griech. λανθάνειν, lanthanein, „verborgen sein“) wurde 1839 vom schwedischen Chemiker und Chirurg Carl Gustav Mosander entdeckt. Aus einem vermeintlich reinen Cernitrat gewann er durch fraktionierte Kristallisation Lanthansulfat.

Lanthan kommt natürlich nur in chemischen Verbindungen vergesellschaftet mit anderen Lanthanoiden in verschiedenen Mineralien vor. Hauptsächlich sind dies:

Monazit ((Ce, La, Th, Nd, Y)PO4)
Bastnäsit ((Ce, La, Y)CO3F)

Gewinnung

Nach einer aufwendigen Abtrennung der anderen Lanthanbegleiter wird das Oxid mit Fluorwasserstoff zum Lanthanfluorid umgesetzt. Anschließend wird dieses mit Calcium unter Bildung von Calciumfluorid zum Lanthan reduziert. Die Abtrennung verbleibender Calciumreste und Verunreinigungen erfolgt in einer zusätzlichen Umschmelzung im Vakuum.

Besonderheiten

Das silberweiß glänzende Metall ist hämmerbar und duktil. Es existieren drei metallische Modifikationen.

Lanthan ist unedel. Es überzieht sich an der Luft rasch mit einer weißen Oxidschicht, die in feuchter Luft zum Hydroxid weiterreagiert.

Bei Temperaturen oberhalb von 440 °C verbrennt Lanthan zu Lanthanoxid (La2O3). Unter Bildung von Wasserstoff erfolgt in kaltem Wasser eine langsame, in warmen Wasser eine rasche Reaktion zum Hydroxid.In verdünnten Säuren löst sich Lanthan unter Wasserstoffentwicklung auf.Mit vielen Elementen reagiert es in der Wärme direkt, mit Halogenen schon bei Raumtemperatur. Lanthan und Wasserstoff bilden ein schwarzes, wasserempfindliches unstöchiometrisches Hydrid.

Verwendung

Lanthan ist Bestandteil im Mischmetall. Pyrophore Werkstoffe für Zündsteine enthalten 25 bis 45 Gewichtsprozent Lanthan. Darüber hinaus findet es Verwendung als Reduktionsmittel in der Metallurgie. Als Gusseisenzusatz unterstützt es die Bildung von Kugelgraphit, als Legierungszusatz bewirkt es eine Verbesserung der Oxidationsbeständigkeit. Lanthanbeimengungen reduzieren die Härte und Temperaturempfindlichkeit von Molybdän.

Hochwertige Kathoden zur Erzeugung von freien Elektronen bestehen aus Lanthanhexaborid als Ersatz für Wolframdraht. Hochreines Lanthanoxid wird in der Glasindustrie zur Herstellung hochwertiger Gläser mit hohem Brechungsindex für die Optik z. B. für Kameralinsen benutzt.

mit Cobalt:

Die Cobalt-Lanthan-Legierung LaCo5 wird als Magnetwerkstoff, lanthandotiertes Bariumtitanat zur Herstellung von Kaltleitern (temperaturabhängige Widerstände) verwendet. In Verbindung mit Cobalt, Eisen, Mangan, Strontium u. a. dient es als Kathode für Hochtemperatur-Brennstoffzellen (SOFC). „Verunreinigtes“ Lanthan-Nickel (LaNi5) findet als Wasserstoffspeicher in Nickel-Metallhydrid-Akkumulatoren Verwendung. Als Zusatz kommt es in Kohlelichtbogenlampen zur Studiobeleuchtung und in Filmvorführanlagen (historische Anwendung?) vor.

mit Titan:

Einem Legierungsmetall mit Materialzusammensetzungen aus Lanthan und Titan wird die Wirkung zugeschrieben, dass bei spanbildender Verarbeitung die Spanlänge reduziert wird. Dadurch soll die Bearbeitung des Metalls erleichtert werden.

Im Bereich der Medizin werden aus dem Legierungsmetall korrosionsbeständige und gut sterilisierbare Instrumente hergestellt. Diese Metalllegierung mit Titan soll für Werkzeuge und Apparate für chirurgische Eingriffe besonders gut geeignet sein, da die Allergie-Neigung bei Verwendung derartiger Metalllegierung mit Titan im Verhältnis zu anderen Legierungen gering sein soll.

Als Lanthanoxid

Herstellung von Gläsern (Lanthanglas) mit vergleichsweise hoher Brechzahl, die sich wiederum nur wenig mit der Wellenlänge ändert (geringe Dispersion), für Kameras, Teleskoplinsen und für Brillengläser
Herstellung von Kristallglas und Porzellanglasuren. Es ersetzt giftigere Bleiverbindungen unter gleichzeitiger Verbesserung der chemischen Beständigkeit (Verbesserung der Laugenbeständigkeit, „spülmaschinenfest“)
Katalysatorzusatz an Zeolithen beim Fluid Catalytic Cracking in der Raffinerie zur Erdölverarbeitung
Herstellung keramischer Kondensatormassen und silikatfreier Gläser
Bestandteil von Glaspoliermitteln
Herstellung von Glühkathoden für Elektronenröhren (auch Lanthanboride)

Als Lanthancarbonat

Medikament zur Senkung des Phosphatspiegels bei Dialysepatienten (sog. Phosphatbinder)

Lanthan wird als wenig toxisch eingestuft. Eine toxische Dosis ist bisher unbekannt. Jedoch gilt Lanthan-Pulver als stark ätzend, weil es sehr leicht durch z.B. Hautfeuchtigkeit zu basischem Lanthanhydroxid reagiert (ähnlich den Elementen Calcium und Strontium). Die letale Dosis beträgt bei Ratten 720 mg.

Allgemein
Name, SymbolOrdnungszahl Lanthan, La, 57
Serie Übergangsmetalle
Gruppe, Periode, Block 3, 6, d
Aussehen silbrig weiß
CAS-Nummer 7439-91-0
Massenanteil an der Erdhülle 17 ppm
Atomar
Atommasse 138,9055 u
Atomradius 195 pm
Kovalenter Radius 207 pm
Elektronenkonf. [Xe] 5d(1) 6s2
1. Ionisierungsenergie 538,1 KJ/mol
2. Ionisierungsenergie 1067 KJ/mol
3. Ionisierungsenergie 1850 KJ/mol
Physikalisch
Aggregatszustand fest
Kristallstruktur hexagonal
Dichte 6,17 g/cm3 (20 °C)
Magnetismus paramagnetisch (χm = 5,4 * 10(-5))
Schmelzpunkt 1193 K (920 C)
Siedepunkt 3743 K (3470 C)
Molares Volumen 22,39 * 10(-6)m(3)/mol
Verdampfungswärme 400 KJ/mol
Schmelzwärme 6,2 KJ/mol
Elektrische Leitfähigkeit 1,626*10(6) A/(V*m)
Wärmeleitfähigkeit 13 W/(m*K)
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Seltene Erden abgelegt und mit , , , , , , , , , , , , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Hinterlasse eine Antwort